Growing Groups

Working for the Voluntary Sector in Hastings

Bank Holiday Weekend

Its been a bit of a difficult bank holiday weekend. On Friday night my Sister rang to let me know that my Dad was in hospital with bladder problems – this has ended up with him having to have a blood clot removed and be catheterised over the weekend. The problem is that he also has dementia, so he is a difficult patient, who keeps removing all the doctors work and going walkabout on the ward. Visiting him in hospital was challenging but it was good to be able to meet my Mum and drive her to the hospital on Sunday. Mum is in her 80s and is my Dad’s carer, but she is not in a good place herself at the moment – recovering from a cancer operation in the recent past. The odd thing is that having him taken into hospital has been a really good rest for my mother. Anyway, I get to hear more tonight so we shall see what develops, when (or if) he gets to go back home and if any operation is needed.

 

Sunday evening I drove back from Reading to Hastings and spent Monday on the seafront witnessing a traditional bank holiday motorbike run and morris dancing festival. 

 

 

 

May 6, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a comment